According to WABetaInfo, WhatsApp is introducing the “View Once” function for images and videos across all desktop apps. A user can send a once-viewable image or video to someone on WhatsApp by using this privacy feature. This kind of message cannot be downloaded by the recipient, nor can it be screenshotted. Furthermore, no one may receive anything submitted in “View Once” format.
A brief about WhatsApp launches the “View Once” function for desktop apps’ images and videos
Users can exchange transient or sensitive content on the app thanks to this functionality. “The media will expire if you do not open a photo or video within 14 days of receiving it,” states WhatsApp.
Notably, for privacy concerns, this capability was taken out of the desktop and web versions of WhatsApp last year.
This capability is accessible on macOS and connected devices running the WhatsApp beta for iPad in addition to Windows. You are currently recommended to use your smartphone to view media files that someone sends you in view once format.
According to the source, the most recent software update has begun to push out this feature to all users. You should see it in the upcoming weeks if you haven’t already.